Honorary Alumni Award

Patricia Oxley, 2017 Honorary Alumnus Award recipient

Patricia OxleyPat Oxley was introduced to Miami University through her husband, Mike, a 1966 graduate. Like many others, she assumed Miami was in Florida … but no … “Miami was a university when Florida belonged to Spain.” Countless visits to the university, participation in class reunions, Winter College and witnessing amazing changes to the campus have all contributed to her own special attachment to Miami.

Oxley lives in McLean, Virginia, where she has been a real estate agent since 1983. She is actively involved with the Washington National Opera Women’s Committee and Capitol Speakers Club of Washington, D.C. Oxley has co-chaired the Ambassadors Ball twice, co-chaired the Eight International Clubs in D.C. and served on the board of Meridian House International. She was the recipient of the Bess Goodman Humanitarian Award.

Prior to her real estate career, Oxley was a flight attendant. Travel, whether local, domestic or international, has always been a big part of her life. She has visited every state except Minnesota, 55 countries and five continents.

Oxley’s greatest joy comes from spending time with her family, especially her grandson, Max, who is almost 5 years old. She thanks you for taking the time to get to know her and feels privileged to receive the Honorary Miami Alumni Award.

She will be honored at the 2017 Alumni Association Awards Dinner, Friday, May 5, 2017.



About the Honorary Alumni Award

Established in 1958, Honorary Lifetime Membership in the Miami University Alumni Association is awarded to those individuals who serve Miami and the Alumni Association as loyally as alumni.
Nominate someone for the Honorary Lifetime Membership Award


Past Recipients

2016 Carter Phillips
2015 Jerry Strohmenger
2013 Brad Bundy
2012 Robin Parker
2011 Jay Kayne
Terry O'Toole
2009 Bonnie Wall

Charlotte Shade


Brian Breittholz
Dan Stanton

2006 Jack Keegan
Jayne E. Whitehead
2005 Jeffrey Outcalt
Dr. and Mrs. Jim Garland
2004 Terry and Jane Hoeppner
2003 Paul Wagner
2002 Vickie Johnson
2001 Ekkehard Stiller
Karel J. Simbartl
2000 Mike and Kathy Comisar
1999 Donald Fergle
1998 Jean Patrice Harrington, S.C.
1997 Edward Demske
Kenneth McDiffett
1996 JoAnne E. Bogard
1995 Kathryn Young Wiley
1994 Marilyn Schamroth
Richard Thomas
1993 G. Phillip Later
Janice I. Szuhay
1992 Robert C. Bresnan
Christie Riekert
Paul G. Pearson
1991 Carol Allen
1990 Richard Brown
Donna Sleet Churchman
Dorothy Carmichael DiIorio
Emily Ottenjohn Scherz
Corwin M. Nixon
1989 Robert F. Etheridge
Richard G. Shrider
C.E. "Mik" Stousland
Kavelma Turner
1988 John C. Wabrick
1987 Jack K. Craine
1986 Winifred C. Pearson
1985 Jane Bobbitt Sheard
1984 Walter Havighurst
John G. Jurgensen
1983 Kenneth Havens
James & Gloria Slattery
1982 Floyd Leonard
K. Kay Tennant
1981 David A. Young
Barbara Pierce Bush
Phillip R. Shriver
1979 Russell McLaughlin
1978 Martha Shriver
1977 Bill Moeller
Joe Nuxhall
1976 Dick Crum
1975 Mary McNamara
1974 Forrest D. Olds
1973 Rosalie Stoup
1972 Orpha M. Webster
1971 Robert B. Sinclair
1970 Edwin H. Meador
1969 Arthur F. Conrad
James A. McDivitt
1968 Richard T. Bystrom
1967 Hilda Wright
1966 Ethel W. Gambee
Betty D. McKinley
1965 Harold P.G.H. Thomas
1964 Leo M. Frank
1963 Marston D. Hodgin
1962 Winbourne S. Nichols
1960 Robert T. Howard
1959 Virginia Vanicek
1958 J. Page Hayden
Col. Ernest J. White
Russell Ziemke