Distinguished Achievement Medal

Lynn Good ’81, 2017 Distinguished Achievement Award recipient

Lynn GoodLynn Good is chairman, president and chief executive officer of Duke Energy, one of America’s largest electric power companies. Under her leadership, Duke Energy has intensified its focus on serving its customers and communities well today while leading the way to a safe, secure and responsible energy future. 

Before becoming CEO in 2013, the 1981 Miami graduate served as Duke Energy’s chief financial officer, and earlier led the company’s commercial energy businesses during its initial development of renewable energy projects. She began her utility career in 2003 with Cincinnati-based Cinergy, which merged with Duke Energy three years later. Prior to 2003, she was a partner at two international accounting firms, including a long career with Arthur Andersen. 

Fortune magazine lists Good as 11th among the “Most Powerful Women in Business” and Forbes magazine calls her one of “The World’s 100 Most Powerful Women.” In 2016, she became the first regulated utility CEO designated as a LinkedIn Influencer – an online thought-leadership program. 

Under Good’s leadership, Duke Energy is embracing new technologies and forward-thinking strategies that strengthen the company’s environmental stewardship. In addition to developing industry-leading solutions for managing coal ash, Duke Energy has increased its investment in solar and wind facilities to $4 billion, and the company has become a top-10 U.S. wind power producer. In 2015, more than 40 percent of the company’s delivered energy was produced from carbon-free sources. Duke Energy was named as one of the “Global 100 Most Sustainable Corporations” by Corporate Knights, while Newsweek listed it as one of “America’s Greenest Companies.” 

Duke Energy has paid a quarterly cash dividend on its common stock for 90 consecutive years. In 2015, the company was listed as one of the “50 Best Companies to Work for in America” by Business Insider and the prior year DailyWorth named it as one of the “25 Best Companies for Women.” 

Good is a member of the Boeing board of directors and serves on its audit and finance committees. She is also a board member of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations, serves on the executive committee of the Edison Electric Institute’s board, and is part of the executive committee of the Nuclear Energy Institute. She is a member of the Business Council and the Business Roundtable. She also serves on the boards of the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art and the Foundation for the Carolinas in Charlotte. Good holds Bachelor of Science degrees in systems analysis and accounting from Miami. She and her husband, Brian, live in Charlotte, North Carolina.

She will be honored at the 2017 Alumni Association Awards Dinner, Friday, May 5, 2017.



About the Distinguished Achievement Medal

Awarded for the first time in 1985, this medal is reserved for the alumna or alumnus who has reached the pinnacle in a field of endeavor.
Nominate someone for the Distinguished Achievement Medal


Past Recipients

2016 Mike "Doc" Emrick M.A. ’69
2015 Ron Harper '86
2013 Myron “Mike” Macechko ’65
Michael Oxley ’66
2012 Robert Essner ’69
2011 Richard Wilson '81
2009 Diane Perlmutter ‘67

Mike Armstrong '61


Roger Howe '57


Matthew Yuricich '50


Richard T. Farmer '56


Marilyn Hughes Gaston '60


Wayne R. Embry '58
Professional Basketball

2000 General Joseph W. Ralston '65
1999 Carol Clark Johnson '50
Professional Golf
1998 Robert O. Greer, Jr. '65
1997 Charles S. Mechem, Jr. '52
Business and Civic Leadership
1996 Richard L. Tolliver '67
Social Science
1995 William M. Isacc '66
Business and Finance
1994 Rita Frances Dove '73
Poetry and Literature
1993 John G. Smale '49
1992 John E. Dolibois '42
Higher Education and Diplomacy
1991 Wilbur C. "Weeb" Ewbank '28
Professional Football
Ernest H. Volwiler '14
Business and Chemistry
1990 Joan Metcalf Schaefer '43
Higher Education and Student Affairs
Glenn E. "Bo" Schembechler '51
Higher Education and Intercollegiate Athletics
1989 Arthur H. Robinson '36
Robert C. Atchley '61
1988 Ira H. Berkow '63
1987 Mildred Murstein Seltzer '42
1986 James T. Demetrion '52
Fine Arts
1985 Donald H. Trautlein '50