Effective Educator Award

Mark Lacker ’79, 2017 Effective Educator Award recipient


He will be honored at the will be honored at the 2017 Alumni Association Awards Dinner, Friday, May 5, 2017.


About the Effective Educator Award

Since 1983, the Alumni Association has recognized one nominee with the Effective Educator Award.  These are the people of uncommon quality who instruct, impact and inspire.

In celebration of their five-year anniversary this academic year, the class of 2012 has the honor of paying tribute to Miami’s faculty/staff by nominating selections for the 2016-17 award.


Past Recipients
Past recipients of the Alumni Association’s Effective Educator Award include:

Dr. Rose Marie Ward, 2015
Dr. Tammy Kernodle, 2014
Dr. Timothy Greenlee, 2013
Dr. Howard Blanning, 2012
Dr. Charlotte Newman Goldy, 2011
Dr. Ryan Barilleaux, 2010
Mr. Jon M. Yamashiro, 2009
Dr. Osama Ettouney, 2008
Dr. Tom Romano, 2007
Dr. Judith de Luce, 2006
Dr. Dennis H. Sullivan, 2005
Dr. Louise Van Vliet, 2004
Mr. Steven Bauer, 2003
Dr. David Marshall, 2002
Dr. Ron Scott, 2001
Dr. Jay Baird, 2000
Dr. Augustus Jones, 1999
Dr. Richard Nault, 1998
Dr. James Brock, 1997
Dr. Susan Lipnickey, 1996
Dr. Robert Vogel, 1995
Dr. Michael Fuller, 1994
Dr. John Wabrick, 1993
Dr. Hugh Morgan, 1992
Mr. Robert Wolfe, 1991
Dr. Johnny Hill, 1990
Dr. Thomas Speh, 1989
Dr. David Rosenthal, 1988
Dr. James Wesson, 1987
Dr. Susan Rudge, 1986
Dr. Bruce Olson, 1985
Dr. Percy Mundell, 1984
Dr. Reo Christenson, 1983